What to read next??

Its been more than a week since my last post… I’ll try to post at least once a week. With a blog, and things in life changing so fast, my brain is trying to keep up! So just bare with me a little. Anyways, lets get to the main point of this post!!!

Have you ever put down a book, and just go “now, what do I read next”? The book I have just finished is awesome, nothing can compare. However, I’m going to try and find something similar, even if the similarity is a stretch. I’m not sure how it is for others, but for me, at least, I go to GOODREADS and find a book I have read, and look at the similar books. Fortunately, I usually find something, but lately…. Not much! So since my last post, I have re-read some books, and tried to expand my reading repertoire… So below is what I read this week:

  • First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones
  • Mind Games by Carolyn Crane
  • Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews
  • Midnight Secrets by Ella Grace
  • Midnight Rescue by Elle Kennedy
  • Midnight Alias by Elle Kennedy
  • Midnight Games by Elle Kennedy
  • The Gamble by Kristen Ashley
  • Sweet Dreams by Kristen Ashley
  • Lady Luck by Kristen Ashley
  • Defying the Odds by Kele Moon
  • Forged in Steele by Maya Banks (re-read)
  • Whispers in the Dark by Maya Banks (Re-read)

I just realized, if I didn’t read so much, I could have posted more. Excuses, excuses right? I’ll try to cut back on my reading….. well who am I kidding, this blog is called a readaholics playrgound…So yup, no explanation needed!

The Authors I can always count on for a good read, are Maya Banks and Ilona Andrews. Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews, has been in my to-read library since it came out. For unknown reasons, I just couldn’t bring myself to read it until now. I had this same issue with reading Touch & Geax by Abigail Roux. And once again, I wish I read the book earlier. Magic Rises, lives up to the rest of the Kate Daniel’s series. You still have the essence and enthusiasm that made us love the first book so much, emanating through each word in Andrew’s latest work. We see more of the issues between D’Humbrey and Kate become apparent. However, I do wish, they propelled the series a little further with this book. It seems that even though it went a step forward, it was a baby step. Nonetheless, reading the book was a joy.

So after I read this, I asked myself what next? I wanted another paranormal book, and thus was lead to read First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones. This book is the first in the Charley Davidson series. It was a great introduction, and unique in its own way. Charley, the protagonist, talks to dead people and helps them move into the light. Think of the show Ghost Whisperer, and there you go, you get First Grave on the Right, with an added twist. Darynda Jones’ prose, makes the story easy to follow, nothing surprises you too much. In the end you think, that was enjoyable. However, if you want to analyze it…. just don’t. You will take the fun right out of the book. Usually with starting a first in a series, I would go straight to the next one… I haven’t done so yet…. I’m once again apprehensive, but with a Goodreads review of 4.30, I’m sure to eventually check it out.

Next I wanted something different. I wanted to veer away from the paranormal, and go more to what I have termed, Alpha-Spec-Ops genre… Which in layman’s terms is your Hot Alpha Male, saving the day, which usually entails, a former military man. Hence, I came upon the Killer Instincts series by Elle Kennedy. Love the series!!! I have always enjoyed a good Alpha military series, especially with Kick Ass females. I stumbled upon this series after searching through books that relate to the Last Chance Rescue Series by Christy Reece. The first book, Midnight Rescue, revolves around Abby Sinclair, a kick-but, no holds, assassin. Yup, that in itself, would make me love the book. Such a simple read, eloquent prose, and a good plot line, all make for an enjoyable read. Right after the first book, I became so enthralled, that I read  Midnight Alias, and Midnight Games.

To end the post with some sort of brevity, if you put down a book like the Killer Instinct series, know that there are a lot more books out their that have similarities. I recommend the KGI series by Maya Banks, the Last Chance Rescue series by Christy Reece,  Elite Force Series by Chatherine Mann… So much more out there. Don’t Miss it!!!

 

Leave a comment