Series: Fever by Karen Marie Moning

ImageSo sorry I have been MIA for the past week or so, usually this is to me being busy or being overly engrossed in a series, that I marathon the whole thing. My excuse? Well, both ^_^. I would like to introduce the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning. Wow! What a journey it was. I was so riveted that I didn’t even go to sleep yesterday until 5 am. I finished this whole series in three days, so please give me a little lee-way, because I haven’t gotten my much needed beauty sleep. Anyways, back to the book.

Ms. Moning has introduced a whole new urban fantasy/paranormal romance world to us. It is refreshing, and thankfully, original. That was its biggest appeal, its originality. Her world revolves the heroine Mac, short for Mackayla. Mackayla, has lost her sister, Alina. She was brutally murdered, and Mac is beyond frustrated with the Dublin police, who has deemed it a cold case. Shoved to the side, so there can be room for other cases that have leads. As a result, Mackayla heads to Dublin and finds that the world she knew, would cease to exist. She would no longer be the naive 22 year old who loves pink, but a hardened woman who fights for her life, as well as for the world. With the help of Jericho Barrons, the Fae Vlane, and other paranormal creatures, Mackayla embarks on a perilous journey filled with love, betrayal, hope, and of course saving the world. Yup, not much at all, no pressure there.As I mentioned before, I loved the originality of the story. It doesn’t revolve around shapeshifters, vampires, and such, but instead, basis of the story is built upon the Fae and the human world. Ms. Moning creates new creatures, called the Seelie and the Unseelie, as well as Sidhe-seer, shades, and etc. Written in a first person perspective throughout the entire series, the author does a great job of fleshing out the characters. We aren’t overwhelmed with 400 characters, instead, Ms. Moning introduces the right amount of characters and expounds upon them. The story is more nuanced than others, we don’t get the light tones that we see in the Mercy Thompson series, or the Kate Daniel Series, but in contrast we see a young girl who has her life turned upside down. She isn’t the alpha female heroine, she makes mistakes, she is human, and she is just trying to live the best way she can. Throughout each book, which are interconnected, so I recommend reading the book in order, Mac encounters many different problems, who with each problem she tries to find a solution. The answer are never black and white in the book, everything is grey, and in the end, no one comes out unscathed. We follow the characters journey, not only Macs, but Jericho’s and Dani’s ( which books 6 and 7 revolve around). However, like the other two series, the romance relationship does not propel the story, its is just there, slightly nuanced, and done just right. Albeit I was somewhat disappointed with how it played out (however, this is just me and my need of a good predictable does of romance). But, my opinion aside, the author handled the romance well, it fit with the characters fundamental dynamics. It was gradual and developed over time.

Now for a personal rave moment, let me just say I love Jericho Barrons, he is purely lethal, and definitely a perfect match for Mackayla. Although sometimes I want to smack her upside the head, and him as well, their relationship is a journey in itself. He would do anything and everything for her, despite denying his righteous intentions. Think of it love/hate relationship.

In the end bookreads gave the whole series above a 4.19 peaking at 4.54. Overall, the rating is a good reflection of the series. It is well thought out, the prose keeps you coming back for more (hence me sleep deprived), originality (something I have not read before- no where near close enough to pull similarities (cough cough 50 shades of grey and Twilight— though thats another argument in itself). In the end, my score would have to be around 4.5 because its been a while that I was excited enough and totally addicted to a book, and that should tell you the series is epic. Furthermore, I do have some reservations on how some things were expanded upon, and keeping up with certain aspects, I still came back for more!

Leave a comment